Odisha heavyweights enter fray on last day

Many prominent leaders from different political parties filed their nomination papers on the last day of submission on Saturday, for the first of the two-phased Lok Sabha and assembly elections in Odisha.

Ten Lok Sabha and 70 assembly constituencies in the state are scheduled to go to polls in the first phase on April 10. Leaders who filed their nominations on Saturday include former chief minister Hemananda Biswal, former Union ministers Joeal Oram and Chandra Sekhar Sahu, former state ministers A U Singhdeo and Narasingha Mishra as well as state BJP president K V Singhdeo.

The Congress’ Biswal and Oram, former president of the BJP’s state unit and also a prominent tribal face of the party, filed their nominations for the prestigious Sundergarh Lok Sabha constituency.

Comments (+)