Political bigwigs file papers on last day

Last Updated 26 March 2014, 20:18 IST

HDK, Narayanaswamy, Poojary, Ramya, Hebbalkar, Bachegowda prominent among them

Several political heavyweights filed their nomination for the Lok Sabha elections on Wednesday, the last day to file papers.

Former chief minister and JD(S) leader H D Kumaraswamy; C Naray­ana­swa­my­, Janardhana Poojary, Lakshmi Hebbalkar, actor Ramya all of Congress; B N Bachegowda, Suresh Angadi and Nalin Kumar Kateel of the BJP are among the prominent who filed their papers. 

Putting an end to days of speculations and uncertainty, former chief minister H D Kumaraswamy filed his nomination papers as JD(S) candidate for the Chikkaballapur Lok Sabha constituency on Wednesday.

“I had no intention of plunging into electoral fray this time, but for the insistence of JD(S) National President H D Deve Gowda and the people of Chikkaballapur. Congress and BJP candidates are my opponents at the hustings and I will bring out the truth about them,” Kumaraswamy told reporters after filing his papers.

The former JD(S) State president alleged that Reliance group of companies had paid thousands of crores of rupees in the form of commission to Union Petroleum and Natural Gas minister M Veerappa Moily, the Congress candidate from Chikkaballapur. He also charged BJP’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi with spending huge money on election campaign.

“According to Arvind Kejriwal of the Aam Aadmi Party, Veerappa Moily is a corrupt politician and has lost the trust and confidence of people. Narendra Modi nurtures the ambition to become the prime minister by spending a huge sum of money,” Kumaraswamy said.

He claimed that the JD(S) would campaign in all the 28 parliamentary constituencies and would win 10 to 12 seats. Kumaraswamy, who was chief minister for 20 months owns movable properties worth Rs 2.56 crore. His immovable properties are valued at Rs 26.49 crore and he has cash on hand of Rs 14.79 lakh.
Do not own a vehicle

His wife Anitha is richer than Kumaraswamy. She has movable assets worth Rs 107.83 crore and immovable properties valued at Rs 12.87 crore. However, neither of them own a car or a two-wheeler.

Kumaraswamy has outstanding loans of Rs 2.15 crore while Anitha has liabilities totalling to Rs 70.07 crore, according to the affidavit submitted by him. A Manju, the Congress MLA from Arkalgud, filed his nomination papers as the Congress candidate for the Hassan seat on Wednesday morning.   

In Chamarajanagar, BJP candidate A R Krishnamurthy submitted his papers for the Chamarajanagar (ST reserved) constituency. Srirama Sene chief Pramod Muthalik, who was shown the doors from the BJP, filed his nomination as an Independent candidate from Dharwad constituency. 

Pra­kash Hukkeri, the minister for Small Scale Industries, Muzrai and Sugar, filed papers as Congress contestant for the Chikodi constituency. He submitted four sets of nomination papers.

Former minister B Sriramulu, who returned to the BJP fold recently and Congress candidate N Y Hanumanthappa submitted their papers for the Bellary constituency. Retired IAS officer Shivaram is seeking election from Bijapur on JD(S) ticket.

(Published 26 March 2014, 20:15 IST)

Follow us on