Highlights of World Twenty20 Championship final

Highlights of World Twenty20 Championship final

Highlights of World Twenty20 Championship final

Statistical highlights of the World Twenty20 Championship final between India and Sri Lanka here.

# Sri Lanka won the World Twenty20 title for the first time. Five nations have won the title once each -- India (2007-08), Pakistan (2009), England (2010), West Indies (2012-13) and Sri Lanka (2013-14).

# Virat Kohli has become the first Indian player and the second to post four half-centuries in a T20I tournament. Matthew Hayden was the first batsman to achieve the distinction in the 2007-08 ICC World competition.

# Kohli has established a batting record in T20Is with his superb aggregate of 319 (ave.106.33) in six matches, bettering Sri Lankan Tillakaratne Dilshan's tally of 317 (ave.52.83) in seven games at the ICC World Twenty20 2009.

# Kohli received his second Player of the Series award in T20Is -- both against Sri Lanka.

# Yuvraj Singh could score just 11 runs off 21 balls at a strike rate of 52.38 -- the third slowest by an Indian batsman in T20Is ( Dhoni had made 9 off 27 balls against Australia at Melbourne on February 1, 2008 -- the slowest by an Indian batsman (minimum 20 balls).

# India (130 for four) recorded their lowest first innings score in a World Twenty20 final, eclipsing West Indies' 137 for six against Sri Lanka at Colombo (RPS) on October 7, 2012.

# Virat Kohli (77 off 58 balls) posted his eighth fifty in 27 T20Is, equalling Yuvraj Singh's tally of eight fifties in 40 T20Is. Both share an Indian record for most 50s in T20Is.

# Kohli's knock is the highest by an Indian batsman against Sri Lanka in T20Is. His batting average of 72.00 is the highest at the World Twenty20 -- his tally is 504 in eleven innings, including six fifties. (minimum ten innings).

# Kohli's innings is the highest by a batsman in a losing cause in a World Twenty20 final -- the second highest behind Marlon Samuels' 78 vs Sri Lanka at Colombo (RPS) on October 7, 2012.

# Mahela Jayawardene became the first Indian player to aggregate 1,000 runs at the World Twenty20 -- his tally being 1016 (ave.39.07) in 31 matches.

# Kumar Sangakkara, thanks to his match-winning knock, received his third Man of the Match award in T20Is -- his second against India.

# Sangakkara's unbeaten 52 is his eighth fifty in T20Is -- his third against India. He became the first player to post two fifties at the World T20 finals. He had scored an unbeaten 64 against Pakistan at Lord's on June 21, 2009.

# With 1382 (ave.31.40) in 56 matches,  Sangakkara has established a record for most runs as a wicketkeeper in T20Is, bettering the 1352 (ave.37.55) in 42 matches by Brendon McCullum.

# Sangakkara's aggregate of 1382 (ave.31.40) in 56 matches is the fifth highest runs' tally in T20Is.