Fourth phase to seal fate of 74 today

Fourth phase to seal fate of 74 today

Fourth phase to seal fate of 74 today

The fourth phase of the Lok Sabha elections will be held on Saturday, covering seven constituencies in four states where over half-a-crore voters will decide the fate of 74 candidates.

Polls will be held in Goa, Assam, Tripura and Sikkim, where several prominent leaders, including sitting MP Shripad Naik (BJP), Tripura's Industries Minister Jitendra Chowdhury and Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) candidate Prem Das Rai are in the fray.

Goa, with two seats, will witness single-phase polling, wherein 19 candidates are in fray for the North and South Goa constituencies, including those of the Congress, the BJP, the CPI and other regional parties, besides independents.

Prominent candidates from North Goa include Ravi Naik (Congress), the BJP's sitting MP Shripad Naik and Dattaram Desai from the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

From South Goa, the Congress' Aleixo Reginaldo Lourenco, the BJP's Narendra Sawaikar and the AAP's Swati Kerkar are among the prominent contenders.
South Goa's sitting MP Francisco Sardinha (Cong) has not been given a ticket this time.

In Goa, two women would be allowed to exercise their franchise after every man. This has been done for the first time keeping in mind that women need to come out in large number to increase polling percentage in the state. In Tripura, polling will held for the Tripura East (ST) constituency, where 12 candidates are in the fray including the CPM's Jitendra Chowdhury, the state's industries minister. The CPM has won the seat 11 out of 15 times between 1952 and 2009, and has held on to it since 1996.

Sikkim is set to hold simultaneous polls for its lone Lok Sabha constituency and 32 Assembly seats. In the Lok Sabha seat, the Sikkim Krantikari Morcha's Tek Nath Dhakal is expected to give sitting SDF MP Prem Das Rai a tough fight. The BJP, the Congress, the Trinamool Congress and the AAP have also put up candidates.
In Assam, polling will be held in the Autonomous District (ST), Karimganj (SC) and Silchar.