BFC to play South United in opener

BFC to play South United in opener

Bengaluru FC will kick off this year’s BDFA Super Division football league with a clash against South United at the Bangalore Football Stadium here on Monday.

Nine teams are taking part in this year’s Super Division. Missing from the list is former champions Karnataka State Police and KGF Academy – formerly BEML FC.

Both those teams haven’t registered to take part as both their managements want only employees to take part and not have guest players on the list.

Given that there will be nine teams playing in place of the original 11, BDFA have decided to relegate just one team from the current season to make it a 10-team division for next year, with two teams gaining promotion from ‘A’ Division.

BFC, who have a given a relegation-free status from the I-League for the next two years, don’t have the same luxury and will be relegated if they are the bottom team in the Super Division.

Hindustan Aeronautics Sports Club are the defending champions.

‘A’ Division league, featuring ten teams, will also begin on Monday. According to a BDFA release, players passes issued for the I-League will be valid for the local leagues as well. Tickets have been priced at Rs 10 and Rs 50, according to a BDFA release.

The teams: Super Division: HASC, South United, ASC, MEG, ADE, RWF, Jawahar Union, CIL, Bengaluru FC.

A Division: Postal, Students Union, DYES, SAI, LRDE, AGORC, Bangalore Kickers, Tilak Memorial, Bangalore Independents, BUFC.