4 Rajya Sabha, 7 Council candidates elected unopposed

4 Rajya Sabha, 7 Council candidates elected unopposed

Four candidates for Rajya Sabha seats, including senior Congress leader B K Hariprasad and BJP’s Prabhakar Kore, and seven candidates for the Karnataka Legislative Council seats, including State Congress president G Parameshwara and BJP’s K S Eshwarappa, were declared elected unopposed on Thursday.

Legislative Assembly secretary Omprakash, who is also the returning officer for the elections, declared the candidates elected.

Thursday was the last day for withdrawal of nomination papers by the candidates. None of the political parties had fielded additional candidates in the elections.

The ruling Congress managed to send its two candidates to Rajya Sabha – Hariprasad and M V Rajeev Gowda. Kupendra Reddy has been elected as the JD(S) candidate, while Kore got re-elected as the BJP Rajya Sabha MP.

For the  Council, Parameshwara, H M Revanna, Jayamma Balaraj and N S Bose Raju (all Congress), Eshwarappa (BJP), T A Saravana (JD-S) and D U Mallikarjun (independent) were declared elected.

Except Mallikarjun, the rest have received the certificate of their election from the returning officer. The Election Commission is expected to issue a notification in this regard shortly, Omprakash said.