Mithun, Richa nail double crowns

Mithun Manjunath and Richa Muktibodh captured two titles each in the Legacy 5-Star State-ranking badminton tournament here at the KBA courts on Tuesday.

Mithun beat Raghu M 21-17, 21-16 to claim the boys’ under-17 singles title and then paired up with the latter to clinch the doubles title in the same category, defeating Abi Amudhan S and Nihal Naik 21-19, 21-11.

Richa claimed the girls’ singles under-15 title after beating Deepthi Ramesh 21-19, 16-21, 22-20 before scoring a 21-13, 24-22 win ovr Medha Shashidharan to win the under-13 title to make it a memorable outing.

Boys: Under-19: Singles final: Harshit Aggarwal bt Sahil Sipani 21-19, 21-13.Semifinals: Harshit Aggarwal bt Raghu M 21-15, 21-14; Sahil Sipani bt Rahul Bhardhvaj B M 21-13, 21-19.

Doubles: Semifinals: Prakash Raj S/ Vaibhaav bt Harshit Aggarwal/ Kiran Kumar G 21-15, 21-15; Loksainath K/ Madhusudan M/ Siddharth E S/ Sudeep Suresh 21-15, 19-21, 21-18.

Under-17: Singles final: Mithun Manjunath bt Raghu M 21-17, 21-16.Semifinals: Raghu M bt Glanish Ashley Pinto 21-14, 21-18; Mithun Manjunath bt Rahul Bhardhvaj B M 21-12, 21-19.

Doubles final: Mithun Manjunath/ Raghu M bt Abi Amudhan S/ Nihal Naik 21-19, 21-11.

Under-15: Singles final: Vishnuh Paura bt Mayuresh Janpandit 18-21, 23-21, 21-14.Semifinals: Mayuresh Janpandit/ Rohith M 21-16, 21-15; Vishnuh Paura/ Anirudh Rao S 17-21, 21-13, 21-11.

Doubles, semifinals: Abhay Pai M/ Chirag B bt Sai Pratheek K/ Saketh Upadhya 15-21, 23-21, 21-18; Shamanth Rao Kidiyoor/ Vikhyath M R bt Rohan Haibatti/ Shubham U Jewargi 21-17, 21-19.

Under-13: Singles final: Chinmaya Venkatesh bt Saket C S 21-19, 21-13 .

Semifinals: Chinmaya Venkatesh bt Shashank Reddy V 24-22, 21-13; Saket C S bt Pruthvi Roy K 21-18, 15-21, 21-19.

Doubles final: Ajinkya Joshi/ Saket C S bt Chinmaya Venkatesh/ Shashank Reddy V 21-14, 21-14.

Semifinals: Ajinkya Joshi/ Saket C S bt Daniel Biju/ Shivdeep Jayanth 21-9, 18-21, 21-12; Chinmaya Venkatesh/ Shashank Reddy V bt Saneeth Dayanand S/ Tejas C G 21-14, 17-21, 21-18.

Girls: Under-19 singles, final: Archana Pai bt Neha G 21-11. 21-16.

Semifinals: Neha G bt Meghana Kulkarni 21-19, 21-17; Archana Pai bt Ranjeeta Sheokand 21-10, 21-7.

Under-17 final: Ashwini Bhat K bt Archana Pai 21-14, 21-18.

Under-15: Singles final: Richa Muktibodh bt Deepthi Ramesh 21-19, 16-21, 22-20.Under-13: Singles final: Richa Muktibodh bt Medha Shashidharan 21-13, 24-22.

Semifinal: Richa Muktibodh bt Deetya Jagadish 21-8, 21-10; Medha Shashidharan bt Advika Ganesh 21-13, 21-14.

Doubles: Final: Advika Ganesh/ Gagana N S bt Keerthana Shroff P/ Tanya Hemanth 17-21, 21-19, 21-12.

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)