Nominated members sworn in

Nominated members sworn in

Four of the five members nominated to the Legislative Council on Tueday, were sworn in by the Chairman of the Legislative Council on Wednesday.  V S Ugrappa, Iqbal Saradgi, Abdul Jabbar and Ivan D’Souza, all Congress members took their oath.

However, actor Jayamala, who is said to be waiting for an auspicious day to swear-in, is likely to take oath on June 30.

Chiding Jayamala, who was sitting in the visitors’ gallery, JD(S) MLC M C Nanaiah said that he also knew a little about astrology which suggested that the noted actor will take oath a day or two. It is said that Wednesday being amavasye, Jayamala decided to postpone her swearing-in.

Meanwhile, the other new MLCs including K S Eshwarappa from BJP, H M Revanna, N S Bose Raj, G Parameshwara from the Congress, T A Sarvana from the JD(S) and Independent candidate D U Mallikarjun are likely to take oath any day after June 30.

Along with them, the four MLCs who were elected from the two teachers and graduates constituencies will also be taking their oath after June 30.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)