Aditya Prakash, Shikha emerge champions

Unseeded shuttlers Aditya R Prakash and Shikha Gautam emerged champions in the men’s and women’s singles sections of the Li-Ning Karnataka State badminton championship here on Sunday.

In the men’s title clash, Aditya, who had earlier upset top seed Abhishek Yeligar in the semifinals, stunned the fancied Daniel S Farid 21-19, 21-10.

In the women’s final, Shikha had it easy as her seventh-seeded rival Mahima Aggarwal conceded the match due to injury while trailing 12-21, 0-3.

Shikha had earlier sent number one ranked Ruth Misha Vinod packing 21-14, 21-18 in the semifinal.
In the boys’s under-19 final, Farid made amends for his defeat in the men’s final, prevailing 21-15, 15-21, 21-17 against Rahul Bharadwaj.

In the girls U-19 category, Mahima bagged a grand double, emerging winner in the singles and doubles. In the singles, Mahima defeated Shikha 21-9, 21-12. In doubles, Mahima and Shikha  pipped Pratiksha Prakash and Savita RN 21-9, 21-12.

Results: Men’s singles (final): Aditya R Prakash bt Daniel S Farid 21-19, 21-10. Semifinals: Aditya R Prakash bt Abhishek Yeligar 21-10, 21-12; Daniel S Farid bt Harshit Aggarwal 16-8 (Retired).
Doubles (final): Adarsh Kumar S/ Vineeth Manuel C bt Guruprasad D/ Venkatesh Prasad 21-12, 21-15. Semifinals: Adarsh Kumar S/ Vineeth Manuel C bt Jagadish Yadav/ Sanjeeth S 21-18, 21-13; Guruprasad D/ Venkatesh Prasad bt Amith Kumar D/ Hemanth MG 21-12, 21-16.

Boys singles: U-19 (final): Daniel S Farid bt Rahul Bharadwaj 21-15, 15-21, 21-17. Semifinals: Rahul Bharadwaj bt Harshit Aggarwal 21-14, 6-3 Ret; Daniel S Farid bt Mithun Manjunath 21-18, 21-11.
Doubles (final): Prakash Raj S/ Vaibhav bt Harshit Aggarwal/ Sahil Sipani 21-18, 21-16. Semifinals: Prakash Raj S/ Vaibhav bt Siddarth ES/ Sudeep Suresh 18-21, 21-7, 21-13; Harshit Aggarwal/ Sahil Sipani bt Kiran Kumar G/ Kiran M 21-15, 21-13.

Men’s senior 45+ (final): Jayaram P Pai bt Manjunatha M 21-11, 21-11. Doubles (final): Jayaram P Pai/ Pradeep Kumar M bt Narendra K Raju/ Sunil Pai 22-20, 21-11.
Women’s singles (final): Shikha Gautam bt Mahima Aggarwal 21-12, 3-0 retired; Semifinals: Shikha Gautam bt Ruth Misha Vinod 21-14, 21-18; Mahima Aggarwal bt Savita RN 21-9, 21-11.

Doubles (final): Nischitha GM/ Varsha Belawadi bt Mahima Aggarwal/ Shikha Gautam 1-0 retired; Semifinals: Nischitha GM/ Varsha Belawadi bt Pratiksha Prakash/ Savita RN 21-11, 21-15; Mahima Aggarwal/ Shikha Gautam bt Ruth Misha Vinod/ Sangeetha Mari 21-7, 21-11. 

Girl’s singles: U-19 (final): Mahima Aggarwal bt Shikha Gautam 21-9, 21-12. Semifinals: Shikha Gautam bt Shivani Pathi A 21-11, 21-11; Mahima Aggarwal bt Archana Pai 21-10, 21-15.

Doubles (final): Mahima Aggarwal/ Shikha Gautam bt Pratiksha Prakash/ Savita RN  21-9, 21-12. 

Semifinals: Mahima Aggarwal/ Shikha Gautam bt Meghana Kulkarni/ Neha G 21-16, 21-10; Pratiksha Prakash/ Savita RN bt Poojashree/ Sri Raksha 21-11, 21-16. Mixed doubles (final): Sanjeeth S/ Nischitha GM bt Adarsh Kumar S/ Ruth Misha Vinod 16-21, 21-19, 21-19.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)