Akhil to lead Hubli

Veteran Karnataka all-rounder B Akhil will lead Hubli Tigers in the third edition of the Karnataka Premier League, beginning on Thursday. 

The team was launched at a function here on Tuesday evening, and the owners of the Tigers -- Jindal Steels and Anand Sweets -- also named promising Karnataka batsman K L Rahul as the vice-captain. 

Akhil was the captain of Bangalore Provident (Rural) when they won the inaugural KPL title in 2009, beating Belagavi Panthers. He also captained Provident in the second edition of the tournament in 2010, finishing runners-up to Mangalore United. 

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)