List of corporation, board chairmen awaits Sonia nod

List of corporation, board chairmen awaits Sonia nod

The long-drawn-out appointments to boards and corporations in Karnataka are likely to happen in a few days as Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and the State Congress president G Parameshwara on Friday submitted a list of 85 names to the party top brass.

Both the leaders met party vice president Rahul Gandhi and Karnataka in-charge general secretary Digvijay Singh and submitted the list of names for appointment as chairmen of  various boards and corporations.

“Rahul Gandhi reportedly approved the list and told the leaders that it will be released after the final approval from Congress president Sonia Gandhi,” sources said. Rahul is learnt to have advised the duo to appoint members to these institutions on their own.

The party has decided not to appoint sitting MLAs and defeated candidates for these posts. However, some former MLAs and MLCs, who were denied party ticket to contest in the last Assembly election, will be considered.

The current  appointments will be for a period of 18 months only. Thereafter, fresh appointments will be made for the remaining 18 months of the government’s tenure.  

Speaking to reporters, Parameshwara said that the state unit’s recommendations include six district unit presidents and 14 state-level office-bearers. Twenty-five per cent each women  and youth Congress workers will also be appointed. The party has tried to give representation to all regions, religions and castes, he added. 

Following is the list of probables: Vasanthi Shivanna, KPCC member, Rani Satish, former minister, M Ramachandrappa, ex-Mayor of Bengaluru, Anand Kumar, vice president-Kisan Cell, C R Narayanappa, former KPCC general secretary, Hiriyanna Swamy, KPCC secretary, Shafiulla, KPCC secretary, Kamalamma, KPCC general secretary, Krupa Alva, Mangaluru, Mallajamma, KPCC general secretary, S M Anand, KPCC general secretary, R Raghu, Mysuru, N Manjunath, Schedule Caste Cell, KPCC, K P Chandrakala, Kodagu, A N Mahesh, district general secretary, Chikkamagaluru, M L Murthy, former district president, M A Gafoor, KPCC secretary, L Manjunathaiah, KPCC general secretary, H R Bhaskar Chitradurga, Marigowda Patil, district president, Gaddadevara Math, DCC, J Narasimha Swamy, Doddaballapura, Niveditha Alva, KPCC secretary, J Huchappa, KPCC secretary, B P Manjula, Chamarajanagar, V S Aradya, ex-secretary KPCC, S Manohar, former youth Congress president, Anant, Mysuru, N S Ratnaprabha, AICC member, K Marigowda, Mysuru, J S Anjaneyalu, Ballari DCC president, Venkatarao Ghorpade, secretary KPCC, R Narayan Bellavi, Kadur Nanjappa, secretary KPCC, Krishnam Raju, ex-BDA member, Jalaja Naik, former MLC, Davangere, Nagarada Mahadevappa, Shivamogga, S S Prakasham, general secretary KPCC, B S Shivanna, Malavalli, Noorulla Sharief, Chitradurga, and Sushma Rajagopalareddy, vice president Women’s wing.