MCC Ward 15: By-poll results today

Counting of votes at Zone-2 office; winner to be declared by 10.30 am

Will Congress be able to retain Ward 15 of the Mysore City Corporation (MCC) that went to by-elections on December 5? Or, will BJP reclaim the seat it lost to the Congress in the previous elections? If not, will Janata Dal (Secular) emerge as a dark horse?

Answers for all these speculations will end on Monday, as all arrangements have been made for the counting of votes at the Zone Two Office of the MCC, near the railway gate at Jayanagar.

Like every election, this poll is not bereft of the guessing game with the party workers and people alike making rough calculations on the possible winner.

The by-poll was necessitated following the resignation of Congress Corporator Manjula Manasa, following her nomination as chairperson of the Karnataka State Women’s Commission. Congress has fielded Komala Ramesh, while Seema Prasad is pitted by BJP.

Lakshmi Ganesh is the JD(S) nominee. K Kempamma is the lone Independent. While Kempamma is in the fray for namesake, having already announced her support to Komala before the elections, the fight is narrowed down to three candidates.


Going by the pre-election scenario in the ward, Congress and BJP have shot every arrow from their quiver, making it a ‘do or die battle’. Congress workers exude confidence of emerging victorious following the overwhelming support from Ahinda (Kannada acronym for Alpasankhyata, Hindulida and Dalit) voters in the ward.

The BJP has fully banked on its traditional vote base in the ward. Unlike her rivals, Seema is a local face, that could tilt the results in her favour, claim saffron party workers. For JD(S), Vokkaliga votes are the only plus point, say party workers.

It is a prestige issue for the ruling partners in MCC — JD(S) and BJP — with the opposition Congress leaving no stone unturned to make it a tough fight.
However, what has kept all the parties on tenterhooks is the low turn out of the voters at 46.03 per cent — just 4,900 voters, against the total of 10,675, exercising their franchise.

MCC Assistant Commissioner and Returning Officer M J Roopa told Deccan Herald, “The voting is scheduled to start at 8 am and the result is expected by 10.30 am”.
Two tables have been arranged for the counting, with the votes of polling booths six and five to be counted respectively, under the supervision of one supervisor and assistant for each table. The candidates and their agents will be allowed inside the counting centre.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0