Court convicts 15 people, including BJP MLA and two former MPs

Court convicts 15 people, including BJP MLA and two former MPs

A fast track court today convicted 15 people, including an MLA and two former Lok Sabha members in a case related to an attack on Sitamarhi collectorate and subsequent police firing in which five persons were killed in 1998.

Those convicted include BJP MLA Ram Naresh Yadav, former JD(U) MP from Sitamarhi Nawal Kishore Rai, former Sheohar MP and RJD leader Anwarul Haq, Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) district president Ram Lashan Singh Kushwaha and general secretary Mohan Kumar Singh.
All of them have been sent to district jail.

Pronouncing the verdict, Fast Track Court judge Mohammad Irshad Alam here held them guilty under Indian Penal Code (IPC) sections 307 (attempt to murder), 322 (voluntarily causing grievous hurt), 324 (voluntarily causing hurt by dangerous weapons or means), 353 (assault or criminal force to deter public servant from discharge of his duty), 147 (punishment for rioting) and 148 (rioting, armed with deadly weapon).

The sentence will be pronounced by the court on June 4.
The case pertains to an incident on August 11, 1998 when the convicted political leaders led a huge crowd after severe floods in the district to demonstrate at Sitamarhi collectorate.

The demonstration turned violent and the people participating in it ransacked the premises, indulged in stone throwing and attacked government officials working there.
The police had to resort to lathicharge and firing to control the situation. Five persons were killed in the police action.

The then Sitamarhi district magistrate Ramnandan Prasad and superintendent of police Paresh Saxena had registered an FIR against 60 persons at Dumra police station. However, 45 of them were set free by the court in the absence of proof.

Comments (+)