Delhi deputy CM's driver fined for over speeding

Delhi deputy CM's driver fined for over speeding

Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia’s car driver was recently fined for speeding after a traffic police personnel chased and intercepted the vehicle.

The minister was on the back seat with another person. Police said they did not interfere in the matter and the fine of Rs 400 was imposed on his driver Mukesh Kumar without much trouble. However, a traffic policeman had to chase the car for almost two kilometres as the driver did not stop the vehicle when signaled by some officers.

The incident took place in east Delhi’s Khajuri Khas on June 12 evening while Sisodia was on his way to attend a function. Police sources said an interceptor was placed at the Khajuri Khas Chowk as a part of routine check on speeding vehicles.

The interceptor detected the minister’s car zooming past at a speed beyond the permissible limit on that stretch of road around 5 pm. A bunch of traffic policemen signalled the car to stop, but the driver only applied mild brakes briefly before accelerating again. “The traffic policemen alerted their colleagues who were stationed ahead. Constable Sachin chased the car on motorcycle while two zonal officers followed close behind in a Gypsy,” said a source.
The traffic policemen finally managed to bring the car to a halt near Wazirabad bridge. Sources said during the chase, the constable made three failed attempts to signal the car with registration number DL10 CA 0017 to stop before finally intercepting it.

Traffic policemen claimed that the personnel chasing the vehicle did not know that it was occupied by the minister. Even if they knew, it would not deter them from fining any traffic offender as it is a part of their duty, said a senior officer.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)