MLAs vow to stand by Raje

MLAs vow to stand by Raje

Pressure continues to mount on Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje and her camp over the recent controversy for helping tainted former IPL chief Lalit Modi. 

Several cabinet ministers met Raje at her residence on Thursday. The chief minister also held a meeting with her close aides to formulate a strategy on her future course of action and reportedly initiated the process to verify all documents signed by her supporting Modi’s plea.

Earlier in the day, a press release was issued from the chief minister’s residence which rejected all allegations and news aired on TV channels. 
The statement read: “Some TV channels are running baseless news just to hurt the political image of Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje. The news is based on rumours. It is advised to first crosscheck the credibility of such news.”

Sources said leaders close to Raje, including Health Minister Rajendra Rathore, are keeping a close watch on all the BJP legislators to avoid any outburst. 

Leaders who are considered as Raje’s opponents are also being monitored closely. Cabinet ministers and MLAs have been claiming that all legislators are with Raje and they will continue to support her even in the worst situation. 

The statement, coupled with day-long developments, triggered chaos in the BJP camp and left the local leaders guessing about Raje’s future strategy.

After several days, Raje made her first public appearance at the Rajasthan Police Academy’s passing out parade but refused to comment on the issue. 

Later state BJP chief Ashok Parnami said: “We have been continuously saying that its important to first see the content and context of the letter reportedly signed by the chief minister. The state BJP can comment only after it examines the document.” 

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)