All-round Kasperek steers New Zealand

All-round Kasperek steers New Zealand

Leigh Kasperek’s all-round performance ensured that New Zealand kicked off their India tour in fine fashion, by beating the India ‘A’ eves in a warm-up game at the M Chinnaswamy stadium, on Friday.

Having posted 256 all out in 50 overs after opting to bat first, the visitors dismissed the hosts for a paltry 159 all out in 50 overs to register a 97-run win.  

The New Zealand openers began steadily with skipper Suzie Bates and Rahel Priest adding 59 runs in 12 overs.

The partnership was broken by Preethi Bose, who was the lone bright spot for the Indians in an otherwise disappointing performance. Preethi picked up three wickets while conceding 32 runs in her allotted 10 overs.

For the White Ferns, Bates and Katie Perkins top scored with 45 each while Kasperek contributed a patient 23.

India A got off to a worst possible start after Lea Tahuhu trapped Sarika Koli leg before with the first ball of the innings.

Pramita Roy and Priya Punia stabilised after the shaky start and the pair added 58 runs before Roy ended up being one of Kasperek’s three victims.

The innings never looked like taking off as half the side was gone by the 21st over with just 72 runs on the board.

Punia top scored for the Indians, scoring 42 runs off 59 balls in an innings laced with six boundaries, but it was never going to be enough.

Devika Vaidya made the only other noteworthy contribution, scoring 37 off 59 balls, in a day that largely belonged to the Kiwis and Kasperek in particular.

The five-match ODI series between India and the Kiwis kicks off on Sunday. 

Brief scores: New Zealand: 256 all out in 50 overs (Suzie Bates 45, Katie Perkins 45, Ammy Satterthwaite 37; PR Bose 3-32, Sushree D Pradhan 3-52, Devika Vaidya 3-64) bt India A: 159 all out in 50 overs (Priya Punia 42, Devika Vaidya 37; Leigh Kasperek 3-19, Morna Nielsen 3-22).  

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)