BJP leaves out two ex-mayors, Katte lucky

BJP leaves out two ex-mayors, Katte lucky

The BJP on Monday gave the party ticket to former mayor B S Satyanarayana (Katte) to contest from Basavanagudi ward, but denied nominations to two other former mayors - D Venkateshmurthy and Sharadamma.

Satyanarayana was given the ‘B’ form at the last minute after senior leaders insisted that he be given the ticket.

But, Venkateshmurthy was not so lucky as the ticket for Kathriguppe, the ward represented by him, was given to Sangathi Venkatesh.

Venkateshmurthy and his supporters had been staging a protest since Sunday blaming former deputy chief minister R Ashoka and MLA Ravi Subramanya for denying ticket to him.

On Monday, Venkateshmurthy said he would stay with the party and contest the next Assembly polls. Sources said Venkateshmurthy had been promised a post in one of the boards and corporations of the Union government.

Sitting Yelahanka MLA S R Vishwanth has managed to get a ticket for his wife Vanishree for the Chowdeshwari ward. Film actor and director Vijayalakshmi Singh, wife of Jaijagadeesh, will be contesting from Kaveripuram ward.