Abbakka honour for three achievers

Abbakka honour for three achievers

This year’s Veerarani Abbakka Award will be conferred on writer
B M Rohini and Rani Abbakka Puraskara will be presented to veteran film actor Harini and sportsperson Lalita Jayaram Ira.

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah will present the awards to the achievers at the valedictory ceremony of Veerarani Abbakka Utsava 2016 at Thokkottu on May 7 and 8.

The awards have been jointly instituted by the Department of Kannada and Culture and Veerarani Abbakka Utsava Samithi. A jury, headed by writer  Amrutha Someshwara, comprising Karnataka Tulu Sahitya Academy President Janaki M Brahmavar, Konkani Academy President Roy Castelino, Beary Academy President B A Mohammed Hanif and others, has selected the achievers for the award. 

Rohini, apart from being a teacher and serving for 38 years, is known for her writings. She has presented her views at various literary conventions and seminars. ‘Stree Samvedane’, ‘Stree Shikshana-Samskruthi’, ‘Stree- Bhinnamukhagalu’ and others are the collections of her articles. ‘Kartavya’ and ‘Garikeya Kudigalu’ are the collection of stories. She has also carried out studies on ‘Veeragallu’ and ‘Mastigallu’ stones and women fighters in the district with other writers. She has received Kannada Sahitya Dattinidhi Prashasti, Shrestha Kruthi Prashasti and Maulya Gowrava Prashasthi.

Harini is known for her acting in Kannada films like ‘Jaganmohini’, ‘Mangalagowri’, ‘Kanyadana’, ‘Naandi’ and ‘Nandadeepa’. She has acted in about 30 films and has bagged national award. She and her actor brother Vadiraj produced ‘Naandi’ received national award for the best film and also  ‘Namma Makkalu’ which won Filmore award.

Lalita Jayaram Ira has been in the sports from her young age. During her high school days, she took part in state- and national-level sports events. She is now an employee of Life Insurance Corporation of India. She has won gold medal in Master Asian Athletics Championship in Bangkok in 2004  with a new record.

She also won gold medals in the master sports championships held in Benguelas, Shanghai and Malasia in 2006, 2008 and 2010 respectively. She also bagged gold in the 18th Masters Asiad (2014). She was awarded Rajyotsava Abhinandana Puraskara, Suvarna Karnataka Karavali Kannadiga Prashasti and Dakshina Kannada Zilla Rajyotsava Award.

The Veerarani Abbakka Prashati and Rani Abbakka Puraskara comprise a purse
of Rs 20,000 each and a citation.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)