Jaya announces major revamp of party

Jaya announces major revamp of party

Jaya announces major revamp of party
Just a few weeks after retaining power in Tamil Nadu, the ruling AIADMK on Wednesday announced a major revamp and reshuffle in the party including dismissing several former ministers from the senior party posts.

Announcing new district secretaries, the AIADMK general secretary and Tamil Nadu chief minister J Jayalalithaa also dissolved the party’s disciplinary action committee and petition committee.

The committee was handled by senior party functionaries especially during election time.
However, Jayalalithaa retained senior leaders E Madhusoodanan as party presidium chairman and Finance Minister O Panneerselvam as treasurer.

The AIADMK removed former ministers including C Ponnaiyan, Natham R Viswanathan, P Palaniappan, Panruti S Ramachandran, P Mohan, S Gokula Indira and S Jennifer Chandran.
Further the party has appointed 11 organising secretaries including former minister R Vaithilingam, who is now Rajya Sabha MP.

PWD Minister Edappadi K Palanisamy has been made as the headquarters secretary. Interestingly, Ulundurpet MLA R Kumaraguru, who defeated DMDK president and actor Vijayakanth in the recent assembly election, has been appointed as Villupuram south district secretary.

Now party’s spokespersons will be C Ponnaiyan, Panruti S Ramachandran, R Vaithilingam, B Valarmathi, Nanjil Sampath, Samarasam, S R Balasubramanian, Vaigai Selvan, C R Saraswathi, K Pandiarajan and Nirmala Periasami.

Reshuffle in TN top bureaucracy
In a major reshuffle of the top bureaucracy in Tamil Nadu, the AIADMK government on Wednesday shunted out Chief Secretary Gnanadesikan replacing him with P Rama Mohana Rao, DHNS reports from Chennai.

The newly appointed Rama Mohana Rao will also hold full additional charge of the post of vigilance commissioner and commissioner of administrative reforms, which was held by Gnanadesikan. Gnanadesikan has been placed at the disposal of Tamil Nadu Industrial Development Corporation for appointment as its additional secretary.
DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)