SP-Congress face-off in many constituencies

SP-Congress face-off in many constituencies

 A fortnight after stitching an electoral alliance in Uttar Pradesh, nominees of the Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Congress face each other in about 12 Assembly constituencies.

In many cases, candidates of both the Congress and the SP have been allotted symbols by their respective parties and are in the fray even after the last date for withdrawal of nominations has ended.
Some refuse to comply

Though the two parties had asked their candidates to withdraw in favour of the other as per the seat-sharing pact, many nominees have simply refused to back out.

The SP expelled its nominee from Gangoh Assembly seat in Saharanpur district, Chaudhary Indrasen, from the party after he refused to withdraw from the contest in favour of the Congress candidate.
The seats where the two parties face each other include Jaidpur, Lucknow Central, Maharajpur, Kole, Bhognipur, Chandpur, Hargaon, Arya Nagar, Kanpur Cantonment, Purkaji and Baldev.

Congress leader P L Punia’s son, Tanuj, has filed his nomination papers from Jaidpur. SP’s Ram Gopal Rawat is also in the fray from the seat.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)