23 legislators yet to submit details of assets to Lokayukta

23 legislators yet to submit details of assets to Lokayukta

23 legislators yet to submit details of assets to Lokayukta

As many as 23 legislators, including former chief minister H D Kumaraswamy, have failed to submit the mandatory affidavits on assets and liabilities before the Lokayukta for the year 2015-16.

A complaint has been filed with the Lokayukta seeking criminal proceedings against 17 MLAs and six MLCs.

Activist Ramamurthy Gowda, who obtained details of the list of defaulting legislators through RTI, said he has filed a complaint before the Lokayukta.  “I have requested the Lokayukta to initiate criminal proceedings for misuse of office and dereliction of duty and under other provisions against these MLAs,” Gowda said.

According to Section 22 (1) of the Karnataka Lokayukta Act, MLAs and MLCs have to submit details of assets and liabilities, including those of their family members, in a prescribed format before June 30 every year.

The legislators then get two more months to submit statements with an explanation for late submission. According to the provisions of the Lokayukta Act, a report will be sent to the governor with details of the members who fail to submit it by June 30.

When legislators fail to submit the statement even after two months, the Lokayukta office releases the names to newspapers and a case will also be booked under Section 176 of the Indian Penal Code (IPC).

According to details provided by the Lokayukta office, besides Kumaraswamy, the MLAs who have missed the deadline are Fairoz Nuruddin Saith (Belagavi North), Raheem Khan (Bidar), Doddanagouda Hanamagouda Patil (Kushtagi), Anil Lad (Ballari), Shivamurthy K (Maya-konda), Sharada Poorya Naik (Shivamogga rural), Madhu Bangarappa S (Sorab), Ningaiah B B (Mudigere), D Nagarajaiah (Kunigal), Krishna Reddy M (Chintamani), Ramakka Y (KGF), K S Manjunath Gowda (Malur), Gopalaiah (Mahalakshmi Layout), Satish Reddy (Bommanahalli), Balakrishna C N (Shravanabelagola) and Jayanna S (Kollegal).

The MLCs who have failed to submit the assets and liabilities are, Appaji Gowda N, Ashwathanarayana, Chowdareddy Thuppalli, Kantaraju, Mallikarjuna D U and Narayana Bangade.
DH News Service