In Nanjangud, Srinivas Prasad makes 'betrayal' an election issue

In Nanjangud, Srinivas Prasad makes 'betrayal' an election issue

In Nanjangud, Srinivas Prasad makes 'betrayal' an election issue
Members of Dr B R Ambedkar Yuvakara Sangha garlanded him and raised the slogan “Prasad annange jai” as senior leader V Srinivas Prasad arrived at Geekalli village near Nanjangud town.

He was led to Mallamma temple, a local deity, where he addressed them. “I know you all understand who is responsible for forcing this election on people. We have all worked for him. But he has no gratitude. He betrayed me...You stand by me,” he said, referring to his political bete noire Chief Minister Siddaramaiah.

The Dalit leader seeths with anger as he speaks about Siddaramaiah and the way he was dropped from the Cabinet. Prasad also tried to explain to them the circumstances that forced him to join the BJP.

The villagers listened to him with patience and raised slogans after he concluded his speech. They also briefed him about the campaign in the local area.

As Prasad walked out of the temple premises, two women took out arathi. Somebody in the crowd said some money should be given to the women. Prasad put his hand into his pocket, but withdrew, as he was in two minds.

“Not that I don't want to give money. But people may think that I am trying to induce you,” he stated. He, however, finally gave Rs 500 notes to the women, saying that it is part of the tradition to give money after aarathi.

Prasad, who is not keeping well of late, took out a brief padayatra on a small stretch of a mud road in the village. The party workers asked him to walk carefully. He greeted the villagers with folded hands from a distance. He did not interact with people standing in front of their houses. A group of elders came to him and assured that they will stand by him in the election.

He has taken to padayatra in villages following reports in a section of the media that he was hardly campaigning.

He had so far confined himself to roadshows with senior BJP leaders. Prasad has represented the Nanjangud assembly constituency twice in the past. Earlier, he was elected MP of Chamarajanagar constituency five times.

Nanjangud Assembly constituency is part of Chamarajanagar parliamentary constituency.