Dominant Coorg pummel Vidarbha

Dominant Coorg pummel Vidarbha

Dominant Coorg pummel Vidarbha

Hockey Coorg pummelled Vidarbha Hockey Association 13-0 in their opening encounter of the seventh Sub-junior National Championships (B Division) here at the Hockey stadium on Monday.

Chethan MK (15th, 51st, 58th, 63rd) dazzled for Coorg with four goals while Vinesh Povajah (13th, 34h), Sukal Yan Mondal (25th, 47th) and Ashik Uthappa (4th, 66th) slammed a brace each in what turned out to be lopsided affair. Pranam Gowda (9th), Tarun NT (41st) and Deepak Yadav BR (69th) were the other contributors.

In other matches of the day, Mumbai Hockey Association scored a 8-3 win over Hockey Madhya Bharat while Hockey Puducherry and Goans Hockey played out a thrilling 3-3 draw.

In the morning’ fixtures, Namdhari XI blanked Sports Authority of Gujarat Hockey Academy 3-0 while Bengal Hockey Association trounced Telengana Hockey 7-2.

Puducherry and Goa thrilled the small crowd with the all six goals in a 3-3 draw being field goals. Goa took the lead in 6th minute through Yogesh Patil but S Mohan equalised for Puducherry two minutes later.

Puducherry then went ahead in the 34th minute with a fine effort from Mohan but even before the cheers had died, Goa equalised with a second from Patil.

The second half was an equally well-fought affair and for the second time Puducherry got the lead in the 45th minute through V Vijayasankaran. Goa finally managed to make it 3-3 when Akshay Gaonkar beat the Puducherry custodian R Rajkumar in the 55th minute.

Results: Pool B: Namdhari XI: 3 (Princepal Singh 3rd, 34th, Hardeep Singh 50th) bt Sports Authority of Gujarat (SAG) Hockey Academy: 0; Mumbai Hockey Association: 8 (Karan Thoshre 4th, Mohd Tousif Querishi 24th, Hritik Gupta 30th, Faraz Thadvi 35th, Raj Patel 51st, 64th, Aifaz Sayyed 59th , Sajid Shah 69th) bt Hockey Madhya Bharat: 4 (Yash Batham 49th, Mudassar Qureshi 58th, Abishek Yadav 65th); Hockey Puducherry: 3 (S Mohan 8th, S Suriya 34th, V Vijayasankaran 45th) drew with Goans Hockey, Goa: 3 (Yogesh Patil 6th, 34th, Akshay Gaonkar 55th). Pool C: Bengal Hockey Association (BHA): 7 (Shoven Biswas 5th, Siddharth Kumar 13th, 16th, Anand Singh Yadav 23rd, Kallu Akli 37th, Anirudh Marik 63rd, 67th) bt Telengana Hockey: 2 (Sharib Ahmed 52nd, 58th); Hockey Coorg: 13 (Ashik Uthappa 4th, 66th, Pranam Gowda 9th, Vinesh Povajah 13th, 34th, Chethan MK 15th, 51st, 58h, 63rd, Sukal Yan Mondal 25th, 47th, Tarun MT 41st, Deepak Yadav BR 69th) bt Vidarbha Hockey Association: 0.