Thumping win for North

Thumping win for North

At the Chinnaswamy stadium on Wednesday, the North lads chased down the 113 runs they required for their second outright win in three matches with reasonable comfort in a low-scoring match that saw 18 wickets fall on day one and a further 15 on the second day.

Overnight 109 for eight in response to Central’s 110, North snatched the early initiative as the last two wickets added a further 31 runs so that by the time they were dismissed for 140, North had opened up a 30-run advantage. Central fared only marginally better in their second essay, making 142 before being bowled out as Gangta received admirable support from the in-form Kamal Passi, whose two for 44 gave him match figures of six for 89.

With Chand in the forefront, North cruised to their target with plenty in the tank to add to their innings victory against East in the first round of matches. Aparjith made an undefeated 109 to take ZCA South to within eight runs of the first-innings lead against President’s XI at the IAF ground. Overnight 206 for seven, President’s XI stretched their first innings to 239, and South had made their way to 232 for four at draw of stumps.
At the RWF ground, the match between ZCA East and West hung in the balance. West had reached 170 for four, chasing East’s 262, by close on day two.

Brief scores: At Chinnaswamy stadium: ZCA Central: 110 all out in 44.4 overs and 142 all out in 56.6 overs (Rakshan F 29; Nikhil Gangta 4-4, Kamal Passi 2-44) lt to ZCA North: 140 all out in 53 overs (Manan Vohra 72; Akhil Lamba 5-42) and 116/3 in 26.1 overs (Unmukt Chand 72 n.o.).

At IAF ground: President’s XI: 239 all out in 108.5 overs (Kuldeep Salve 59, Ankit Tiwari 32, Nakulraj Sharma 29, Vikash Shetty 27, Prateek Koushik 25; Bharath 4-49, Kishore 3-52) vs ZCA South: 232/4 in 75 overs (Aparjith 109 n.o., Vihari 59, Shreyas Gopal 37; Suchith 3-57).

At RWF ground: ZCA East: 262 all out in 104 overs (Shravan Kumar 85 ,Manpreet Singh 82; Karthik Kakde 4-84, Akarshit Gomel 4-39) vs ZCA West: 170/4 in 84 overs (Akhil Herwadkar 68, Vijay Zol 62 n.o., Akarshit Gomel 28; Prem Pradhan 2-25).

Comments (+)