Easy wins for Prajnesh, Sumit

Easy wins for Prajnesh, Sumit

Easy wins for Prajnesh, Sumit

India's Prajnesh Gunneswaran and Sumit Nagal eased into the second round on the opening day of the Bengaluru Open US $ 100,000 ATP Challenger event at the Karnataka State Lawn Tennis Association (KSLTA) on Monday.

In a contest between two left handers, Prajnesh punished an error-prone sixth seed Evan King 6-4, 6-4 in 58 minutes to avenge his first-round loss to the American at the KPIT-MSLTA Challenger in Pune last week.

Prajnesh, who squandered two break points in the third game of the first set, broke his opponent in the fifth game and clinched the set in no time. Nothing went right for King, who failed to hold on to his serve in the first game of the second set. The 25-year-old never recovered from there.

In the last singles match of the day, Sumit brushed aside compatriot and qualifier Vijay Sundar Prashanth 6-2, 6-0. Nagal, the junior Wimbledon doubles champion, moved freely in the rallies and closed out points with fine accuracy. Vijay struggled with his serve, producing as many as nine double faults and was completely outplayed.

The tournament's first match between Brydan Klein of Great Britain and Pedja Krstin of Serbia didn't last long after the latter retired hurt. The Serbian was down 4-6, 0-1, when he conceded the match complaining of sickness.

Results (prefix denotes seedings): Singles: Brydan Klein (Gbr) bt 7-Pedja Krstin (Serb) 6-4, 1-0 (retired hurt); Prajnesh Gunneswaran (Ind) bt 6-Evan King (USA) 6-4, 6-4; Jay Clarke (Gbr) bt Siddharth Rawat (Ind) 6-3, 6-3; Marc Polmans (Aus) bt Geoffrey Blancaneaux (Fra) 7-6 (2), 6-3; Sumit Nagal (Ind) bt Vijay Sundar Prashanth (Ind) 6-2, 6-0.

Doubles: Sriram Balaji/Vishnu Vardhan (Ind) bt Mario Viella Martinez/ Zapata Miralles B (Esp) 6-0, 6-3; Iban Sabanov/Matej Sabanov (Cro) bt Kunal Anand/Anvit Bendre (Ind) 6-7 (3), 6-4, [10-7]; Tomislav Brkic (Bih)/Ante Pavic (Cro) bt Pedro Martinez/Adrian Menendez-Maceiras (Esp) 6-3-6-2; Prajnesh Gunneswaran/Ramkumar Ramanathan (Ind) Suraj Prabod/Nitin Kumar Sinha (Ind) 6-2, 6-2.