Invite without CM, others' names evokes ire

Invite without CM, others' names evokes ire

Missing of names of chief minister and several MLAs and MLCs of the district in the invitation card created a ruckus in front of Hubballi Airport entrance, while on the stage also, ministers R V Deshpande and Vinay Kulkarni expressed ire for this violation of 'protocol'.

As soon as Large, Medium Industries & Infrastructure Development Minister R V Deshpande entered the upgraded airport inauguration venue, he expressed discontent, saying that Chief Minister Siddaramaiah's name should have been printed in the invitation card, though he did not attend the event. He also took officials present there to task.

"Union minister Ananth Kumar has nothing to do with this work, and his photograph is displayed on the stage, and my photograph is not there. BJP leaders are politicising this event," Mr Deshpande told media persons.

On the stage also, Mr Deshpande stated that the State Government spent Rs 346 crore to acquire around 600 acres of land, utility shifting, road development and other works for the airport upgradation, while the Airports Authority of India (AAI) spent Rs 142 crore for upgradation works. All should be united in good works, and politics should not be played in development. Officials concerned should have followed the protocol, he added.

District In-charge Minister Vinay Kulkarni told MP Pralhad Joshi to ask the officials to follow the protocol, as the names of MLCs Basavaraj Horatti, Shrinivas Mane, Pradeep Shettar and MLA Prasad Abbayya were not mentioned in the invitation card.

Giving a clarification, MP Pralhad Joshi noted that he had sent the list of all people's representatives in the district to the airport director and the Civil Aviation Ministry which printed the invitation card. But officials informed that the names of all MLAs and MLCs cannot be included in the invitation card. "I request union ministers to solve such problems being caused due to the difference in the protocol being followed by Union and State governments," Mr Joshi said.


In front of the airport entrance, workers of Congress Party and JD(S) staged separate protests, alleging that the protocol is violated, and the event is being organised like a BJP event.

Led by Altaf Hallur, Dasharath Wali and others, Congress workers lamented that names of chief minister, MLAs and MLCs of Congress are not mentioned in the inivtation card, though the State Government contributed a lot for the airport development. JD(S) leaders Rajanna Koravi, Gangadhar Patilkulkarni and others expressed opposition for not including the names of MLC Basavaraj Horatti and MLA N H Konaraddi.

Police detained Congress and JD(S) workers when they tried to enter the airport premises, and released them later.

Residents of Jagadish Nagar Ashraya Colony also staged a protest demanding speedy construction of 188 houses to rehabilitate those who lost shelter for airport upgradation, and to provide basic amenities to those houses that were not acquired.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0