Ganesh Kamath presented Press Club Award

Ganesh Kamath presented Press Club Award

Ganesh Kamath presented Press Club Award

Though the people of Dakshina Kannada district are peace lovers and good, the district is earning a bad name due to mischief by a few miscreants who want to disturb peace in society, rued Deputy Commissioner S Sasikanth Senthil.

Addressing a gathering after presenting the annual Press Club Award to entrepreneur Ganesh Kamath, Senthil lauded the efforts of a majority of media persons who have been handling many serious issues bothering the district with utmost care. Stating that the media plays a crucial role in maintaining a healthy society, he sought co-operation from media to towards betterment of society.

Ganesh Kamath, who has been a ray of hope for 45 plus persons in and around Moodbidri, despite he losing both his hands in a mishap, said that he wanted to end his life after he lost both his hands in a mishap and after he found it very difficult to eke out a living. "My mother's encouraging words and SCDCC Bank Chairman M N Rajendra Kumar's support gave me a fresh lease of life," he recalled.

A total of 17 journalists who had received various awards in the last one year were felicitated while four students (son/daughters of press club members) who scored more than 90% marks in SSLC / PUC were also felicitated.

Earlier, journalists performed a Yakshagana - Shakrari Kalaga, much to the appreciation of the audience. Those who participated included Kishore Bhat (Indrajithu) from Vishwavani, Ganesh Mavanje (Lakshman) from Indian Express, Diwakar Padmunja (Rama) from Digvijaya, Harish Motukana (Ravana) from Vijayavani, Jithendra Kundeshwar (Hanumantha) from Vishwavani, Suresh Palli (Vibhishana) from Hosa Digantha, Harsha (Jambava) from Indian Express, Raghava M (Sugreeva) from The Hindu, Indira (Seethe) from Karavali Ale, Suresh Bhandary (Shukracharya) from Coastal Digest, Rajesh (Nala) from Hosa Digantha, Bharath Raj (Neela) from News 18 and Prashanth C K (Rakshasa Dootha) from Daijiworld.

The Bhagavathike was done by Bhavyashree Mandekolu, Guru Bolinjadka (Maddale) and Murari (Chende). The scribe-artistes were trained by Yakshaguru Yelluru Ramachandra Rao.

The celebrations began with a classical vocal by Deccan Herald reporter Ashwani Kumar N K R.

SCDCC Bank chairman M N Rajendra Kumar, Kannada Sahitya Parishat president Pradeep Kumar Kalkura, Working Journalists Association president Jagannath Shetty Bala and Patrika Bhavan Trust president Anand Shetty were present.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)