'ZP chief adamant on continuing as president'

As per the internal agreement in the BJP, ZP president B S Chaitrasri should have resigned after completing 20 months term. However, she has refused to resign and is adamant about continuing as the president.

A meeting to discuss the issue convened at the BJP office on Wednesday has failed to come to a consensus. The meeting was attended by BJP district unit president D N Jeevaraj, leaders M K Pranesh and BJP ZP members.

According to the agreement within the party, vice president S N Ramaswamy Shettygadde has tendered resignation. However, Chaitrasri has not resigned and is adamant about continuing for another 10 months, said sources.

As per the agreement, the post of president is reserved for SC (woman) and vice president for general category. Accordingly, Sujatha Krishnappa of Jayapura constituency should have got the post of president, said sources.

A decision in this regard will be taken after holding a meeting with MLA C T Ravi. Meanwhile, vice president S N Ramaswamy Shettygadde has been asked to withdraw his resignation for the time being.

Union Minister Prakash Javedkar will arrive at Chikkamagaluru on January 22 to discuss the preparations for the upcoming assembly elections.

Zilla Panchayat president B S Chaitrasri said "a meeting was convened to discuss on assembly election. I am not aware of the discussion on the resignation."

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)