Congress, MIM, TDP win seat each in legislative council

Congress, MIM, TDP win seat each in legislative council

Congress and MIM candidates were elected in the state capital while  TDP bagged the lone seat in neighbouring Ranga Reddy district. The  result of the council polls for three seats were announced within  couple of hours after the counting began Monday morning.

The elections to three seats from Local Authorities Constituencies  (LACs) were held on Friday.

Congress' M.S. Prabhakar and MIM's Syed Aminul Hasan Jafri were  elected in Hyderabad while  Narendra Reddy of the TDP emerged victorious  in Ranga Reddy district.

The result in Hyderabad was a foregone conclusion given the majority  Congress and MIM enjoyed in the local body and the poll boycott by the TDP.

However, the result in Ranga Reddy came as a jolt to the Congress party as  it had gone all out to woo voters, comprising members of zilla parishad  and mandal parishad territorial committee members, corporators and  councillors.

TDP's Narendra Reddy was elected with a margin of 48 votes. TDP  bagged 342 votes while Congress polled 294 votes. Eight votes were  declared invalid. Out of 653 voters in Ranga Reddy, 644 had cast their  votes.

In Hyderabad, Congress polled 69 seats and MIM 55. Two votes were  declared invalid. Out of the total 157 voters, 126 had exercised their  franchise.
In a last minute-decision, the TDP had boycotted the polls in  Hyderabad making it almost an unopposed election of the Congress and  MIM candidates.
The TDP's was voicing its protest against election officials not  allowing its corporator Raja Singh to cast his vote through postal  ballot.
Raja Singh, an accused in the recent communal riots in the city, is  lodged in Chanchalguda jail.

Soon after his victory, MIM candidate and senior journalist Jafri told  reporters that he would do his best to solve the problems faced by the  people of Hyderabad and its twin city Secunderabad.