Vikas steals the show, Railways top table

Vikas steals the show, Railways top table

RSPB swept the overall tally with four gold, two silver and three bronze medals to continue their dominance in the national circuit.

Haryana finished a distant second with two gold and three bronze medals. The Services Sports Control Board (SSCB) was third in the overall list with two gold, two silver and an equal number of bronze medals.

The day began with former Commonwealth champion Sunil Kumar (Haryana) beating Vipin Kumar (Uttar Pradesh) in the light fly weight final.

 In the fly weight division, Railways’ Sanjay Singh lost narrowly to Madan Lal of Haryana.
Services’ Chhote Lal out-punched Police’s S Suresh 8-2. Services had another reason to celebrate when V Santosh Kumar defeated Delhi-lad Jitender Mann in the light welter weight final.

But Railways bounced back when Dilbag Singh (69kg) clinched a record-equalling ninth gold in his final appearance in the Nationals after his namesake from the Delhi team gave a walk-over due to a hand injury.

Railways were further boosted by Kuldeep Singh’s third successive gold in the middle weight division beating Kulwant Singh (SSCB).

Olympian Dinesh Kumar (Police) defeated Jasveer Singh (RSPB) the light heavy weight final.

Railways’ Praveen Kumar bagged the heavy weight title by beating Delhi’s Narender 1-0, while his team-mate Paramjeet Samota clinched the super heavy gold with an 11-5 win over SSCB’s Hardeep Singh to complete a memorable outing.