President's XI crowned champs

Mansoor Ali Khans lads lift title after rain plays havoc on final day
Last Updated 28 July 2010, 18:40 IST

The draw, however, was enough for the President’s XI to lay their hands on the trophy.
With a win in the opener and an innings lead in the second, President’s XI tallied 10 points after their third match against Combined XI ended in a stalemate.

Overnight 348 for eight in pursuit of President’s 526, Combined XI could make little headway as the day was called off without a ball being bowled.
With this, President’s finished comfortably ahead of the second-placed City XI at six points. Combined XI too earned six points but their loss to City XI pushed them to third place.
Bangalore Zone could manage just two points to bring up the rear in the four-team event.
Meanwhile, at NRA, City XI, overnight 227 for three in reply to Bangalore Zone’s 535 for nine declared, could bat for not more than 4.2 overs as persistent rains cried halt to the day’s proceedings with City XI at 239 for three from 76.2 overs.

Both teams had to settle for a point each.

DH News Service
Brief scores: At RSI: President’s XI: 526 all out in 160.1 overs drew Combined XI: 348/8 in 88.3 overs.
At NRA: Bangalore Zone: 535/9 decl in 158.4 overs drew City XI: 239/3 in 76.2 overs (Arjun Hoysala 36 n.o.; Ryan Ninan 3-61).
Final positions: President’s XI (10 points) 1; Combined XI (6) 2; City XI (6) 3; Bangalore Zone (2) 4.

(Published 28 July 2010, 18:40 IST)

Follow us on