Tulu academy annual award ceremony in Udupi on June 24

Informing this to media here on Saturday, Academy Chairman Dr Palthady Ramakrishna Achar said, Home Minister Dr V S Acharya would present the academy honours and the book awards for the year 2008.

Bannanje Babu Amin (research), Sadashiva Salian (theatre/cinema) and Dasu Bangera (folklore) are the academy award winners. Bola Chittaranjandas Shetty, Nagaraj Gurupura and Mohammed Kulai will receive book awards for their books in poetry, drama and translation respectively, he informed. MP D V Sadananda Gowda will inaugurate the ceremony at 4 pm. Kannada and Culture Department Secretary B R Jayaramaraje Urs, Mumbai University Kannada Department former head Prof Talthaje Vasanth Kumar, Ambalapady Sri Janardana Mahakali Temple Managing Trustee N B Vijaya Ballal, retired Kannada lecturer from Kasargod Dr Kamalaksha Kuntar will be the chief guests. Dr Achar said the function would follow performance of a Tulu dance-drama and staging of a play ‘Renke Buri Bokka’ directed by P Murahari.

The Academy in-charge Registrar N Harikumar and members were present at the press meet.

Comments (+)