Badri spurs Super Kings

Badrinath’s counter-attacking 52 from 42 balls played a huge role in CSK reaching 151 for four after they were down five for two in the second over and 48 for three at halfway mark after electing to bat.

He got ample support from Anirudha Srikkanth (42) and the duo shared 73 from 49 balls for the fourth wicket to take CSK to 151 on a spongy Kingsmead pitch.Later, the CSK bowlers complemented the good work in skittling Central Districts for 94 to start their campaign on a winning note.

Pacer Lakshmipathi Balaji was the most successful bowler with three for 20 while Muttiah Muralitharan, R Ashwin and Doug Bollinger claimed two wickets apiece.Only Doug Bracewell of the Districts batsmen touched 30 as the rest fell to a combination of accurate medium-pace and excellent off-spin bowling from the Super Kings, who were alwalys in control once they had put runs on the board.

Earlier, a superb exhibition of counter-attacking batting from Badrinath and Anirudha helped CSK post a competitive total after they were reeling at five for two in the second over as Hayden (0) and Suresh Raina (4) were out early.Both Hayden, who fell in the first ball he faced in the opening over, and Raina, who followed suit after four balls, were done in by deliveries which had extra bounce.


CHENNAI SUPER KINGS: Murali Vijay c Sinclair b Bracewell 19, Matthew Hayden c Ingram b Mason 0, Suresh Raina c Diamanti b Milne 4, S Badrinath (not out) 52, S Anirudha c Griggs b Bracewell 42, Albie Morkel (not out) 26. Extras (B-2, LB-4, W-2) 8. Total (for 4 wkts, 20 overs) 151.
Fall of wickets: 1-1, 2-5, 3-40, 4-113.
Bowling: Michael Mason 4-0-29-1, Adam Milne 4-0-28-1, Mitchell McClenaghan 4-0-34-0, Doug Bracewell 4-0-28-2, George Worker 2-0-11-0, Kieran Noema-Barnett 2-0-15-0.
CENTRAL DISTRICTS: Peter Ingram c Raina b Morkel 6, Jamie How b Ashwin 13, George Worker c Muralitharan b Balaji 4, Mathew Sinclair c Hayden b Muralitharan 10, K Noema-Barnett c Dhoni b Muralitharan 0, Bevan Griggs c Dhoni b Bollinger 9, Brendon Diamanti st Dhoni b Ashwin 4, Doug Bracewell b Balaji 30, Adam Milne (not out) 2, Michael Mason c Bollinger b Balaji 10, Mitchell McClenaghan c Hayden b Bollinger 0. Extras (LB-1, W-4, NB-1) 6. Total (All out, 18.1 overs) 94.
Fall of wickets: 1-12, 2-22, 3-35 4-36 5-36 6-44 7-82 8-84 9-94.
Bowling: Doug Bollinger 3.1-0-10-2, Albie Morkel 3-0-20-1, Lakshmipathi Balaji 4-1-20-3, R Ashwin 4-0-28-2, Muttiah Muralitharan 4-0-15-2.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)