Indians short listed for top business book award

The two economists, Sheena Iyengar and Raghuram Rajan, are among six authors short-listed for the award that carries prize money of 30,000 pounds. Short-listed authors will each receive 10,000 pounds.

Iyengar, professor of Business at Columbia University, has been short-listed for her book, 'The Art of Choosing', which focuses on choice and how it is affected by culture.
Rajan, an adviser to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, is a professor of Finance at the University of Chicago, and has been short-listed for his book, 'Fault Lines: How Hidden Fractures Still Threaten the World Economy'.

The other four short-listed authors are David Kirkpatrick ('The Facebook Effect: The Inside Story of the Company That Is Connecting the World'); Michael Lewis ('The Big Short: Inside the Doomsday Machine'); Sebastian Mallaby ('More Money than God: Hedge Funds and the Making of a New Elite') and Andrew Ross Sorkin ('Too Big to Fail: The Inside Story of How Wall Street and Washington Fought to Save the Financial System – and Themselves').

This year's judges, Lionel Barber, Liaquat Ahamed, Helen Alexander, Lynda Gratton, Mario Monti, Jorma Ollila and Shriti Vadera decided on the six books which, in their opinion, provided "the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues". Lionel Barber, Editor of the 'Financial Times' said: "This year's short-list combines compelling narrative with trenchant analysis of the big questions facing the business and financial world, two years on from the collapse of Lehman Brothers.
The standard of writing is high and the insights into the causes and consequences of the global financial crisis are laid bare.

The short-list also includes an account of the stunning rise of Facebook and a more philosophical reflection on the Art of Choosing by Columbia Professor Sheena Iyengar".
The overall winner of the 2010 Book Award will be announced on 27 October at an Award Dinner in New York, at which Vartan Gregorian, President, the Carnegie Corporation of New York will be the keynote speaker.

Previous winners of the Award are: Liaquat Ahamed for 'The Lords of Finance' (2009); Mohamed El-Erian for ‘When Markets Collide' (2008); William D Cohan for 'The Last Tycoons' (2007); James Kynge for 'China Shakes the World' (2006); and Thomas Friedman as the inaugural Award winner in 2005.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)