JD(S), Cong supporters celebrate in districts

JD(S), Cong supporters celebrate in districts

JD(S) party workers celebrate in K R Pet in Mandya district on Saturday.

JD(S), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Congress party workers celebrated as the BJP failed to move the vote of confidence in the Assembly on Saturday.

The party workers celebrated ‘Vijayotsava’ soon after BJP state president announced his resignation. In Mysuru party workers burst crackers and distributed sweets. While JD(S) workers hailed slogans for JD(S) leaders H D Deve Gowda and H D Kumaraswamy, Congress workers shouted for Siddaramaiah and G Parameshwara.

Deputy Commissioner Abiram G Sankar had clamped Prohibitory Orders under Section 144 of CrPC across the district to maintain law and order.

In Mandya, amidst Prohibitory Orders, the people celebrated in all seven Assembly segments. Police had intensified security at Sanjay Theatre Circle, Mahaveera Circle, near Visvesvaraya statue and near BJP office in the city.

Similarly, in Hassan, celebrations picked up as soon as the JD(S) and Congress workers learnt about the JD(S) and Congress forming the government. Supporters of JD(S) gathered near Hemavathi statue in the city and raised slogans for Deve Gowda, Kumaraswamy and H D Revanna.

The party workers took out a bike rally in N R Circle, Basattikoppal. The workers in Sakleshpur offered special puja at Sakaleshwaraswami temple.