DYSS, Mysore lifts Dhyanchand Cup

Goalie of host team with stunning saves helps team clinch the title
Last Updated 26 January 2013, 18:14 IST

A super save by DYSS, Mysore's goalkeeper Rohini M P in the sudden-death, helped DYSS, Sports Hostel, Mysore to pip SAI, Sports School, Bhopal 6-5 (via sudden-death), in the final of the Dhyanchand Invitational hockey tournament for women conducted by the National Sports day Celebration Sports Committee, Mysore at the University grounds here on Saturday.

Both the teams dished out enterprising hockey with SAI, Bhopal having most of the possession in both the halves. After a goalless first half, the second half too did not see any goals being scored by both the teams and at full time both the teams were logged goalless.

SAI, Bhopal secured nine penalty corners and failed in converting the same into goals. DYSS, Mysore's goalkeeper Rohini literally saved five goals by padding away the ball to safety off penalty corner shots taken at the goal.

DYSS, Mysore secured a solitary penalty corner which went abegging.


In the resultant tie-breaker, Ranjitha A K shot out, while Muthamma PC, Kavyashree B P, Sana I L and Manasa scored for DYSS, Mysore. Shila Singh, Pragya Maurya, Sushma and Hemlata scored for SAI, Bhopal while Ritusha's stroke was well saved by DYSS Mysore's goal-keeper Rohini.

Both the teams were level 4-4 after the tie-breaker and the sudden-death was enforced. DYSS, Sports Hostel, Mysore's skipper I L Sana scored, while Shika Singh also scored for SAI, Bhopal (5-5), Muthamma P C scored for DYSS, Sports Hostel, Mysore while SAI, Bhopal's Pragya Maurya's stroke was saved by DYSS, Mysore's goal-keeper Rohini M P which helped their team win by a 6-5 margin via sudden-death.

In the match for the third place,  Lucknow XI scored a convincing 2-0 win over SAI, Sports Hostel, Trivandrum. Kavita Murya (11th min) and Kamala Rawat (55th minute) were the scorers for the winner. The winning team took home a attractive trophy and Rs.25,000 cash prize, while the runner-up SAI, Sports Hostel, Bhopal secured a trophy and Rs.20,000.

 Lucknow XI, finished third and secured a trophy and Rs15,000 cash prize. The prizes to the winners was given away by University of Mysore vice chancellor Prof K S Rangappa and deputy commissioner of police(law and order) Basavaraj Malagatti.

The results:

Final: DYSS, Sports Hostel, Mysore 6 bt SAI, Sports School, Bhopal 5 (Full time 0-0, Tie-breaker 4-4, Sudden death 2-1).

Third Place:  Lucknow XI 2 bt SAI, Sports School, Trivandrum 0 (ht 1-0).  Semi-finals: DYSS, Sports Hostel, Mysore, 6 bt SAI, Sports School, Trivandrum 0 (ht 2-0); SAI, Sports School, Bhopal 4 bt Lucknow XI 0 (ht 3-0).
Special Prizes: Best Goalkeeper- Rohini M P(DYSS, Sports Hostel, Mysore); 

Talented Players: Aishwarya (SAI, Sports School, Trivandrum), Akrithi (Lucknow XI), Dheeksha (Sports School, Kudige), A,Dubey (Bhundelkhand, Jhansi), Balvinder Kaur ( SAI Sports School, Bhopal) and Sushma ( SAI Sports School, Bhopal).

(Published 26 January 2013, 18:14 IST)

Follow us on