Kodagu flood victims to get Rs 10k per month

Last Updated 25 September 2018, 19:30 IST

The government has decided to disburse a monthly compensation of Rs 10,000 to flood victims, who have lost their houses in the recent calamity, Housing Minister U T Khader said on Tuesday.

Speaking to reporters here, Khader said the government had earlier decided to build temporary sheds for the flood victims.

The decision was, however, scrapped as it was thought better to disburse a compensation of Rs 10,000 to each family, till permanent shelters are built for them.

He said 700 to 800 families had lost their homes during the floods. The government built houses for them costing Rs 6 lakh each, he added.

Beneficiaries of housing schemes implemented by the Rajiv Gandhi Rural Housing Corporation Limited (RGRHCL) would now have time till October 15 to submit applications for release of funds that have been locked over non-compliance of norms, said Khader.

The minister said that the department had decided to extend the deadline to ensure that genuine beneficiaries do not miss out on the opportunity.

Khader said funds of 72,370 housing scheme beneficiaries had been locked over non-commencement of construction and also for failing to upload timely progress report of their houses online.

He said 37,508 beneficiaries had uploaded the progress reports. Of this, around 19,000 beneficiaries had furnished genuine information, while around 18,000 beneficiaries are said to have furnished wrong information.

The beneficiaries have to furnish the details through the panchayat development officer (PDO), who will inspect the houses and upload the information.

The beneficiaries can call the ‘Spandana’ call centre (23118888) for further information, he added.

Khader said that the department had identified 49,500 beneficiaries under the chief minister’s Rs one lakh housing scheme in Bengaluru. The tender process will be initiated before October 10 and works on the project would be initiated soon, he added.

(Published 25 September 2018, 17:45 IST)

Follow us on