AIMIM retains all sitting MLAs in first list

AIMIM retains all sitting MLAs in first list

Asaduddin Owaisi.

The Asaduddin Owaisi-led All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul Muslimeen (AIMIM) on Tuesday retained all its sitting MLAs in the first list of candidates for the upcoming legislative Assembly elections in Telangana.

The AIMIM had seven MLAs in the state Assembly, which was dissolved last week.

Owaisi's younger brother Akbaruddin Owaisi will contest from Chandrayangutta Assembly segment, according to an AIMIM release.

The other candidates announced are: Syed Ahmed Pasha Quadri (Yakutpura), Mumtaz Ahmed Khan (Charminar), Mohd Moazam Khan (Bahadurpura), Ahmed Bin Abdullah Balala (Malakpet), Jaffer Hussain Meraj (Nampally) and Kausar Moinuddin (Karwan)— all the Assembly segments are in Hyderabad.

The only minor change in the list is the swap of constituencies between Mumtaz Ahmed Khan and Ahmed Pasha Quadri.

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) said that the AIMIM is a "friendly party", although the TRS has already announced candidates for 105 out of the total 119 Assembly constituencies, including the seats held by AIMIM.

The Assembly polls were originally scheduled to be held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha elections next year.

However, the Assembly was dissolved as per the recommendation made by the TRS government, necessitating elections ahead of schedule.