Backward classes, Kammas in AP candidate lists

 YS Jaganmohan Reddy in Kakinada. File photo
A clear picture is emerging in Andhra Pradesh poll scene, with the YSRCP declaring its candidates for all the 175 Assembly seats and 25 MP seats and the TDP matching it with two lists covering 141 seats. Both the main parties while keeping their brand image intact have given a prominent place for backward classes commensurate with their population in the state.
The YSRCP released its first list of 9 candidates for the Loksabha segments on Saturday night. On Sunday morning, YS Jaganmohan Reddy released the list of all the 175 candidates for Assembly in one go and the remaining 16 seats for the Lok Sabha from Idupulapaya.   He offered prayers at his father late Dr YS Rajasekhara Reddy’s resting place before releasing the list exactly at 10.26 minutes, considered as auspicious. Six of the MP candidates are from the Reddy community and 7 are from BC communities.
In the 175 Assembly segments, the YSRCP has allotted 41 seats to Reddy community and 41 to BCs. Nine of the candidates are ex-All India service employees, 15 medical doctors, 40 sitting MLAs, 41 Post Graduates and 98 graduates. “BC were given 41 seats, Naidu cheated BCs by counting forward caste considering Balijas as BCs. If we add that our BC seats will go up to 45. Muslims were given 5 seats. By God’s grace and my father’s blessings, I will see all of you in the Assembly, '' said Jagan.
Kammas get their share in TDP's 1st list

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has allotted 32 seats to the Kammas, a prominent caste in Coastal Andhra Pradesh.  In the present Assembly, there were 33 Kamma legislators from various political parties. The first list of TDP released on Thursday has names of 31 BCs who are 37% of the population, while Kammas constitute only 4.8% of the population.
TDP gave 18 seats SCs, 4 for STs and 2 for Muslims.  Naidu gave 83 tickets to sitting candidates. Women got 15 seats which is over 11% of 126 seats. The OCs got 72 seats. In 13 segments, new faces were given a chance. Fourteen YSRC MLAs who defected to the TD were also given tickets in the first list. Naidu's second list of 15 Assembly candidates was released on Saturday night. Only 34 more seats have to be cleared. The second list includes 1 seat in Srikakulam, 2 East Godavari, 1 West Godavari, 2 Krishna,  1 Nellore, 2 Kurnool, 4 Anantapur,  and 2 Chittoor.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 1

  • 0

  • 0



Backward classes, Kammas in AP candidate lists


Write the first review for this !