Kerala BJP improves vote share but wins no seat

Kerala BJP improves vote share but wins no seat

The Congress and the CPM — the two leading political parties of Kerala — recorded fall in vote shares in the Lok Sabha elections.

The Congress showed 31.1 per cent vote share, fall of 9.03 per cent from 40.13 per cent in 2009. The CPM which had a 30.48 per cent share in 2009, showed a decline to 21.6 per cent.

On the other hand, the BJP, while yet again failing to open its account in the state, recorded a 10.3 per cent vote share; in 2009 it had only secured 6.43 per cent of the votes.

However, both the Congress and CPM had contested in fewer number of seats in the April 10 elections. While the Congress contested from 15 of the 20 LS seats in the state, the CPM fielded candidates in only 10 constituencies. In 2009, the parties had fielded 17 and 14 candidates, respectively.

 The Indian Union Muslim League (IUML), an ally of the Congress in the United Democratic Front (UDF), had a 4.5 per cent vote share, a climb-down from 5.07 per cent in 2009. Independent candidates, including five fielded by the Left, secured a 11.4 per cent vote share.

The None Of The Above (NOTA) option that made its debut in the election had 1.2 per cent voters using it. Malappuram constituency had the most number of NOTA votes – 21,829. In Thiruvananthapuram, the figure stood lowest at 3,344.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)