LDF surging ahead with leads in 88 constituencies

LDF surging ahead with leads in 88 constituencies
The CPI(M) led Left Democratic Front (LDF) is surging ahead in Kerala, establishing a lead in 88 of the total 140 Assembly constituencies.

The ruling Congress led United Democratic Front (UDF) is ahead in only 49 seats, while BJP is ahead in two Assembly segments as the counting progressed.

LDF on its own is heading in 82 seats, while LDF-supported independents are ahead in six constituencies.

Chief Minister Oommen Chandy and his cabinet colleagues Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan, P K Kunhalikutty, Manjalamkuzhi Ali and M K Muneer have established clear leads.

CPI(M) polit bureau member Pinarayi Vijayan is leading by over 24,000 votes in Dharmadam, while Marxist veteran V S Achutanandan has established a lead of over 10,000 votes over his nearest rival over C Krishnakumar of NDA in Malampuzha.

It was a sea-saw battle for former Finance Minister K M Mani and K Babu, both of whom are leading by a very small margins. At times, their rivals were ahead of them. The two ministers had been under the cloud of bar bribery scam, which was a severe embarrassment for the Chandy government.

BJP candidate and former union minister O Rajagopal is leading by over 8,000 votes in Nemom constituency in Thiruvananthapuram.

BJP state President Kummanam Rajasekharan, cricketer Sreesanth and former BJP State president V Muraleedharan are all trailing.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0