Railways identifies 6 routes for high-speed corridors

Railways identifies 6 more routes for high-speed corridors

Representative image.

The Indian Railways has identified six sections for developing high speed and semi-high speed corridors including Chennai-Bangalore-Mysore (435 km), Railway Board Chairman VK Yadav on Wednesday.

Detailed Project Report (DPR) on all the six sections will be ready within a year. The DPR will study the feasibility of these routes which includes land availability, alignment and a study of the traffic potential there. After these things are studied, we will decide if they will be high-speed or semi-high speed corridors," said Yadav.

The new corridors will join the under-construction Mumbai-Ahmedabad high-speed route.

Trains can run at a maximum speed of over 300 km/hr on a high-speed corridor, while on a semi-high speed corridor, the maximum speed can go beyond 160km/hr.

In a briefing ahead of the Union Budget, Yadav said the six corridors include the Delhi-Noida-Agra-Lucknow-Varanasi (865 km), Delhi-Jaipur-Udaipur-Ahmedabad (886km), Mumbai-Nashik-Nagpur (753 km), Mumbai-Pune-Hyderabad (711 km), Chennai-Bangalore-Mysore (435 km) and the Delhi-Chandigarh-Ludhiana-Jalandhar-Amritsar (459 km). 

He said India's bullet train project between Mumbai and Ahmedabad, the country's first high-speed corridor, will be completed by December 2023. 

Of the total required 1,380 hectare of land for the project, 1,005 hectare was private land of which we have acquired 471 hectares. 149 hectare was state government land of which we have got 119 hectare. The remaining is 128 hectare which is railway land which has been given to the high-speed corporation, he said.

The railway hoped that 90 per cent land acquisition work for the bullet train project will be completed in the next six months.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox