TRS candidates face voters' ire while canvassing

TRS candidates face voters' ire while canvassing

A file photo of TRS campaign. Credit: DH file photo

The early announcement of the candidate list for the elections has proved counterproductive for the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS). Voters are expressing anger over the MLAs of the dissolved Assembly who have not shown up for work for the past four and a half years.

People shouted slogans and stopped microphones from being fitted onto autorickshaws decorated in pink for the TRS candidates. Both Aroori Ramesh of Wardhannapet and Peddapalli candidate Dasari Manohar Reddy were not allowed to canvass in rural areas.

The candidates were greeted with “down down” shouts. The village voters say that the MLA never visited their villages after the 2014 elections and hasn’t fulfilled any of the promises that he made prior to the elections.

Villagers from Vempet in Metpally block confronted K. Vidyasagar Rao who is contesting from Korutla in Jagtial District. They were furious over the MLA's failure to keep his promise to reopen the sick unit of Nizam Sugar factory at Mutyampet within 100 days of the TRS coming to power. A scuffle broke out between the villagers and Rao’s supporters.

In Anazpur of Yadadri District, ex-MLA Gadari Kishore’s men and supporters of Congress candidate Addanki Dayakar clashed during a TRS campaign. TRS members claimed that Congress workers caused problems while posing as villagers. The agitated TRS workers allegedly also beat up local police personnel.

The other TRS candidates who faced anger from voters were Rekha Naik from Khanapur (ST) constituency in Mancherial District, K. Prabhakar Reddy and G. Sunitha in Munugode and Alair constituencies of Yadadri District and Aswaraopet candidate Thati Venkateshwarlu in Bhadradri Kothagudem District.

In Wyra, TRS candidate Banoth Madanlal faced a protest from his own party men who were upset about his candidacy. Disappointed over denial of party nominations, protests were organised by rebels in Vemulawada, Ramagundam, Manakondur, Peddapalli, Manthani and Choppadandi Assembly segments.

“There seems to be dissatisfaction over local leaders at the grassroots level. However, K Chandrasekhar Rao’s charisma will get the voters back into the TRS fold,” according to Prof Nageshwar Rao, a political analyst.

TRS leaders have so far dismissed the protests as common and the handiwork of the grand alliance.