Central Zone enter semis

Last Updated : 22 January 2010, 16:47 IST

Follow Us :


Manoj Tiwary’s battling century notwithstanding, East Zone crashed out of the Duleep Trophy after conceding the first-innings lead to Central Zone here on Friday.

Central Zone, who progressed to the semifinals, will face South Zone in Indore from Tuesday.

Overnight 64 for one chasing Central’s massive 480 for eight declared, East’s best chance was to bat out the day and go through on run rate, but they were bowled out for just 290.
Only Tiwary held firm with an undefeated 102, East’s cause not helped by a collapse that saw them slip from  a comfortable 131 for two to 133 for five.


CENTRAL ZONE (I Innings): 480/8 decl in 125 overs

EAST ZONE (I Innings, O/n: 64/1): Dheeraj Jadhav c Kaif b Bangar 28, Arindam Das c Kaif b RP Singh 52, Ishank Jaggi c Ojha b Saxena 27, Saurabh Tiwary b Chawla 22, Manoj Tiwary (not out) 102, Wriddhiman Saha (run out) 0, Dhiraj Goswami b Saxena 29, Sourashish Lahiri c Srivastava b Chawla 14, Ashok Dinda lbw Chawla 0, Ranadeb Bose c Ojha b RP Singh 0, Abu Nechim Ahmed c Raina b RP Singh 9. Extras (B-4, LB-2, W-1) 7. Total (all out, 78.2 overs) 290.

Fall of wickets: 1-62, 2-90, 3-131, 4-133, 5-133, 6-201, 7-255, 8-255, 9-256.
Bowling: Rudra Pratap Singh 22.2-5-80-3, Pankaj Singh 15-3-56-0, Umesh Yadav 7-2-19-0, Sanjay Bangar 8-4-16-1, Piyush Chawla 14-0-57-3, Jalaj Saxena 12-0-56-2.

Published 22 January 2010, 16:46 IST

Follow us on :

Follow Us