Raghavendra, Raghu sparkle

Cricket: KSCA invitation tourney: Presidents XI on verge of easy victory
Last Updated 31 July 2010, 16:59 IST

After skittling out erratic Tripura for 185, President’s XI openers Bharath Chipli (48 batting,  7x4) and Karun Nair (33 batting, 6x4) helped erase 90 off their target without any damage at stumps at the Chinnaswamy stadium.

The stars of the day for the hosts were definitely the spin duo of Raghu and Raghavendra, both claiming four wickets apiece.

While left-armer Raghavendra (4/34), who was introduced in the 21st over, bowled two long spells with probing accuracy that pushed Tripura batsmen on the defensive, Raghu (4/20) ran through the opposition, who collapsed just before tea after holding fort rather cautiously post lunch. Medium pacer Asghar Pasha, who initiated the early wreckage, too deserves a word of praise. Going steadily at 70 for no loss after seeing off the new ball with good discipline, Tripura were rocked by Pasha in the opening over of his second spell.

The paceman first trapped Yogesh Takawale (37, 4x8) with a ball just swung back enough to catch the right-handed batsman in front before he got another delivery to move away that took the edge of Abhijit Dey’s bat to second slip.

Opener Amit Das soon fell to Raghavendra and at 84 for three, Tripura were in some sort of trouble when a stubborn  partnership of 75 between Bappa Das (51, 4x4, 6x2) and skipper Debrata Chowdhury (28) steadied the ship.

But a wild shot from Bappa off Raghu gave President’s XI an opening and the hosts pounced on it gleefully.

Tripura’s slide continued as they lost four quick wickets in the space of eight balls before folding up for a meagre total which now looks even more inadequate with Chipli and Nair on song.

Nair set the tone for the chase with two spanking boundaries in the opening over after which Chipli, who was defensive early on, took over, dispatching visiting spinners all over the park.

Meanwhile at the RWF (T) ground, riding on Sunil N Raju’s 121, KSCA Colts posted 262 for nine in 85 overs against Railway Sports Promotion Board in a match reduced to 92 overs a side.

Brief scores: At Chinnaswamy: Tripura CA: 185 all out in 65.3 overs (Yogesh Takawale 37, Amit Das 37, Bappa Das 51, Debabrata Chowdhury 29; Asghar Pasha 2-42, Raghavendra C 4-34, C Raghu 4-20) vs KSCA President’s XI: 90/0 in 24 overs (Bharath Chipli 48 batting, Karun Nair 33 batting).

At RWF (T): KSCA Colts: 262/9 in 85 overs (Stalin Hoover 27, Kunal Kapoor 25, Sunil N Raju 121, Nitin Bhille 36, BN Bharath 25; Vikas Tohas 2/55, JP Yadav 3/66, Karan Sharma 2/18) vs Railway Sports Promotion Board. Match reduced to 92 overs due to delayed start.

At IAF (T): Hyderabad CA: 283/2 in 71 overs (T Suman 78, Anoop Pai 89 batting, Ibrahim Khaleel 85 batting) vs Goa Cricket Association. Match reduced to 84 overs due to delayed start.

At RSI (T): Rajasthan Cricket Association: 131/5 in 64 overs (Tanuj Sharma 42, Ankit Lamba 31, Robin Bist 36 batting; R Jangid 4-32) vs Vidarbha Cricket Association. Match reduced to 77 overs due to delayed start.

(Published 31 July 2010, 16:59 IST)

Follow us on