Ranji Trophy: Kerala in command against Vidarbha

Resuming at their overnight score of 134 for 7, Vidarbha could add only four runs to the total before getting bundled out for a mere 138 in their first innings. For Kerala, medium pacers Sony Cheruvathur (5 for 47) and Prashant Parameswaran (4 for 22) shared nine wickets between themselves, even as the one wicket went to left-arm spinner Sreekumaran Nair.

Replying to the paltry Vidarbha score, Kerala openers  -- Jagadeesh and Hegde batted sensibly and did not try to make any adventurous strokes. Jagadeesh, who scored a century against Jammu and Kashmir in the previous match at the same ground, continued with his good run with the bat.

He, in the able company of Hegde, took Kerala past 100-run mark without losing a wicket. But just when it seemed that the duo would take the team to a huge total, Vidarbha bowlers struck.

After sending back Hedge for a well-made 45, the bowlers did not let the advantage slip and added three more Kerala wickets to their kitty for the addition of just 28 runs. However, the experienced Sreekumar Nair and K J Rakesh wrested back the initiative by realising an unbroken 45-run stand for the fifth wicket.

For Vidarbha S B Wagh captured 2 for 21, while U T Yadav and Azhar Sheikh grabbed one wicket each.

Brief scores:
Vidarbha Ist innings: 138 all out in 66.4 overs (Akshay Kolhar 51, Sony Cheruvathur 5/47, Parameswaran 4/22).
Kerala Ist innings:  177 for 4 in 76 overs (Abhishek Hegde 45, V A Jagadeesh 67, S B Wagh 2/21).

Comments (+)