Ryder returns to Kiwi squad

Last Updated 31 March 2010, 16:49 IST

Canterbury batsman Rob Nicol is the only new cap in the 15-man New Zealand squad. New Zealand will be based in Georgetown, Guyana during the pool stages of the World Cup which runs from April 27 to May 16.

Squad: Daniel Vettori (captain), Shane Bond, Ian Butler, Gareth Hopkins, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Rob Nicol, Jacob Oram, Aaron Redmond, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Scott Styris, Ross Taylor.

C’wood retained skipper
Hampshire batsman Michael Lumb, whose reputation has risen after winning a surprise IPL opportunity with Rajasthan Royals, made a further breakthrough by being named as the only uncapped player in England’s 15-strong squad.

Michael Lumb, Eoin Morgan and Ravi Bopara were also included in the 16-member squad.

Squad: Paul Collingwood (captain), James Anderson, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Craig Kieswetter, Michael Lumb, Eoin Morgan, Kevin Pietersen, Ajmal Shahzad, Ryan Sidebottom, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, Luke Wright, Michael Yardy.

Fit Smith to lead
Graeme Smith will be fit to lead South Africa in the T20 World Cup but left-arm fast bowler Wayne Parnell was not included in the South African squad.
Squad: Graeme Smith (captain), Jacques Kallis (vice-captain), Lungile Bosman, Johan Botha, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Rory Kleinveldt, Charl Langeveldt, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn, Juan Theron, Roelof van der Merwe.

SL call-up Chandimal
Sri Lanka have called up uncapped wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Chandimal in their 15-man squad.

The highly-rated 20-year-old was included in the squad named by selectors on Wednesday after scoring 320 runs at an average of 53.33 in Sri Lanka’s domestic T20 league.

Former skipper Sanath Jayasuriya also found the place in the squad.

Squad: Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Muttiah Muralitharan, Mahela Jayawardene, Sanath Jayasuriya, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Angelo Mathews, Thissera Perera, Suraj Randiv, Dinesh Chandimal, Nuwan Kulasekera, Lasith Malinga, Chinthaka Jayasinghe, Chamara Kapugedera, Ajantha Mendis, Chanaka Welegedera.

(Published 31 March 2010, 16:49 IST)

Follow us on