BJP files nomination for Dy Speaker post of Karnataka Assembly

N Yogish Bhat, one of the senior most members of BJP, today filed his nomination papers for the election.Bhat's unanimous election to the post is a foregone conclusion as his is the lone nomination received.

Congress and JDS had requested the government to postpone the elections till the courts decide on the petitions filed by 16 MLAs, including five independents, challenging their disqualification from the Assembly membership under the anti-defection law last year.

Opposition Congress leader Siddaramaiah, KPCC President G Parameshwara, MLA and JDS leader H D Revanna, alleged that the government was in a hurry to grab the post.
The Deputy Speaker post remained vacant since December 30, 2009, after the elevation of Bopaiah as Speaker.In the 224-member assembly, BJP has a strength of 106, Congress 73 and JDS 28.

Comments (+)