BJP to turn the heat on coalition govt

BJP to turn the heat on coalition govt

HEADS TOGETHER: (From left) BJP Karnataka Election co-in-charge Kiran Maheshwari, party state president B S Yeddyurappa, leaders Jagadish Shettar and K S Eshwarappa during the BJP Legislature Party meeting at its office in Bengaluru on Tuesday. DH Photo/J

The state BJP on Tuesday decided to continue its efforts of getting the numbers to push the government over the edge.

The BJP legislature party which met in Bengaluru, stood firm on its opinion that the party should get at least seven disgruntled Congress legislators in its kitty. Once the numbers are on its side, the game plan of the party is to move a motion stating that the H D Kumaraswamy-led coalition government has lost its majority and seek a floor test in the Assembly.

The saffron party is already in touch with four legislators — Umesh Jadhav, Ramesh Jarkiholi, B Nagendra, Mahesh Kumthalli — who kept away from the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) meeting held last month. It is making efforts to get three more disgruntled legislators in the group.

If this is done, the total strength of the coalition government in the Assembly (which at present is 118) will fall below 113, the magic number required for a majority, thereby mandating Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar to direct Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy to prove his strength on the floor of the House.

Cross-voting by this group will help the BJP, which has 104 members, reach the magic number with the help of two independents who have already withdrawn support to the government.

The BJP central leadership had deputed RSS strongman and party national general secretary (organisation) Ram Lal to the legislature party meeting on Tuesday.

BJP state president B S Yeddyurappa told reporters that his party will not destabilise the ruling coalition. “We will not try to destabilise this government. The Congress and JD(S) need not fear. We will work as the opposition,” he said.