Central Karnataka proves central to BJP tally

Central Karnataka proves central to BJP tally

BJP workers celebrate with colours the party's lead on more than 110 Assembly seats, as the counting of votes is in progress, outside the party office in Bengaluru on Tuesday. PTI Photo

BJP, which had bagged only two seats in Central Karnataka region comprising four districts-Shivamogga, Chitradurga, Davangere and Tumakuru in the previous assembly election results, has bounced back strongly and emerged victorious in 21 seats out of 32. The formation of KJP by former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa had harmed BJP’s polls prospects in the previous assembly polls. But the merger of KJP with BJP, the declaration of State BJP President B S Yeddyurappa as the chief ministerial candidate and Prime Minister Narendra Modi wave proved highly beneficial for the saffron party in the region.


BJP has put up highly impressive performance in Shivamogga district, which is known as its Shakti Kendra. Due to the formation of KJP, BJP had failed to win a single seat in 2013 out of seven. Shikaripura was represented by KJP. But the merger of KJP with BJP has helped the party to rise like a phoenix from the ashes.

For the first time, it has won six seats out of seven in the district. Congress has managed to win Bhadravathi. It had won three seats-Sagara, Shivamogga Urban and Thirthahalli in 2013. Surprisingly, JD(S) which had also won three seats-Soraba, Shivamogga Rural and Bhadravathi in the previous election, failed to open its account this time. It may be mentioned here that the BJP’s earlier best performance in the district was five out of seven in 2008. But this, time, it has increased its tally from five to six. Among the seven seats-BJP has won six-Shivamogga Urban, Shivamogga Rural, Shikaripura, Soraba, Thirthahalli and Sagara. Congress has managed to wrest power from JD(S) in Bhadravathi.

The strong network of BJP at the grass-root level, Modi wave and the projection of B S Yeddyurappa as a chief ministerial candidate, who is from Shivamogga district, have played a key role in the victory of the party in six constituencies.

BJP, which had not opened its account in Davangere in 2013, has won six seats this time. Of the eight seats, Congress had won seven and JD(S) one. But this time, BJP has won six seats-Davangere North, Channagiri, Honnali, Mayakonda, Harapanahalli, and Jagaluru. Congress has won two seats-Davangere South and Harihara. Lingayats have backed BJP to make their leader B S Yeddyurappa as the next chief minister. It may be mentioned here that majority of winners of BJP this time had faced the previous polls on KJP ticket. But they had lost it by narrow margin then. Now, they have embraced victory with the merger of KJP and BJP.


BJP has improved its performance in Chitradurga from one to five seats. In 2013, out of six, BJP had won a single seat, Congress won the four and BSR Congress floated by former minister B Sriramulu one. But this time, BJP has won five seats-Chitradurga, Holalkere, Hosadurga, Molakalmuru, Hiriyuru and Congress has retained Challakere. Social Welfare Minister H Aanjaneya has failed to retain Holalkere seat. Voters belonging to Lingayat and Valmiki Nayaka community have backed BJP for Yeddyurappa and B Sriramulu factors as both belong to two strong communities. Besides, anti-incumbency in four constituencies proved beneficial for BJP.


BJP has increased its tally from one to four in Tumakuru district which has 11 assembly constituencies, Congress has slipped from four to three and JD(S) from six to four. Of the 11, BJP had won a single seat, JD(S)-six and Congress-four in 2013. But this time, BJP has emerged victorious in constituencies dominated by lingayats-Tumakuru city, Chikkanayakanahalli, Tipaturu, and Turuvekere. The defeat of law minister T B Jayachandra in Sira constituency and his son Santosh Jayachandra in Chikkanayakahalli turned out to be a major set back for Congress. KPCC President G Parameshwara managed to win Koratagere seat this time.

The failure of Congress candidates to get support from Ahinda voters(Dalits, minorities and backward classes) is the major reason for poor performance of Congress. JD(S) has won four seats-Madhugiri, Sira, Tumakuru Rural and Gubbi due to the party president H D Kumaraswamy wave and dominance of Vokkaliga community in old Mysuru region.